Staples, Minn.,
07:00 AM

Area Educators Awarded for NJPA Teachers of Excellence Awards Banquet

WHO: 38 area educators will be awarded

WHAT: 2016 Teachers of Excellence Awards Banquet

WHERE: Grand View Lodge, Gull Lake Center, 23521 Nokomis Ave, Nisswa, MN 56468

WHEN: Wendesday, April 27, 5 p.m.

WHY: Nearly 200 peopel from Region 5 will attend this annual event including, award recipients, their families, school administrators, and NJPA staff

INTERVIEW OPPORTUNITIES: Paul Drange - NJPA Director of Regional Programs, Dr. Joe Martin - Keynote Speaker, nationally-known motivational educaiton speaker, Award recipients

PHOTO OPPORTUNITY: Educators receiving awards, audience of close to 200 people

Media questions & RSVP: Quinn Nystrom, PR/Social Media at



NJPA Education Solutions recognizes the profound impact of educators and celebrate their work at the Teachers of Excellence Awards Program. These educators were selected for their commitment to excellence and demonstration of best practices and leadership in education, which has led to increased student learning.

2016 Award Recipients


Elise LeMay - Bertha-Hewitt School

Wendy Gindorff - Cuyuna Range Elementary School

Kristine Andersen - Crosby-Ironton High School

Annette Klang - Crosslake Community Sc hool

Kami Van Hal - Eagle Valley School

Anthony Kula - Little Falls Community High School

Joel Holey - Little Falls Community Middle School

Roger Fregin - Little Falls: Dr S.G. Knight Elementary School

Tony Kathrein - Little Falls: Lincoln Elementary School

Gail Geyer Little Falls: Lindberg Elementary School

Laura Koeffers - Long Prairie Grey Eagle Elementary School

Isaiah Hahn - Menahga High School

Mindi Brill - Pequot Lakes Eagle View Elementary School

Karin Wolter - Pequot Lakes Middle School

David Guenther - Pequot Lakes High School

Keith Magsam - Pierz Pioneer Elementary School

Sara Underhill - Pierz Healy High School

Darla Marcy - Pillager Elementary School

Jordan Herman - Pillager Middle School

Jacob Mehr - Pillager High School

BVicki urnside - Royalton Elementary School

Randy Thielges - Royalton High Sc hool

Brenda Wegscheid - Sebeka School

Robin Kautto - Stalesp Eleles mentary Sch ool

LaRae Bjorge - Staples-Motley Middle School

Char Binek - Staples-Motley High School

Donna Bestland - Staples-Motley Connections High School

Neal Weisz - Swanville Elementary School

Pam Czech - Swanville High School

Curtis Robertson - Upsala High School

Holly Becker - Wadena-Deer Creek Middle/High School

Thomas McIver -- Walker-Hackensack-Akeley High School

Margaret Grondahl - Freshwater Education District

Team of Educational Excellence Award:

Anita Larson, Becky Abbott, Michelle Brekken, Laura DeChaine - Little Falls Community School

Leader of Educational Excellence Award:

Catherine Bettino - Pine-River Backus Schools

About NJPA

Sourcewell (formerly National Joint Powers Alliance) is a self-supporting government organization, partnering with education, government, and nonprofits to boost student and community success. Created in 1978 as one of Minnesota's nine service cooperatives, we offer training and shared services to our central-Minnesota members. Throughout North America, we offer a cooperative purchasing program with over 200 awarded vendors on contract. Sourcewell is driven by service and the ability to strategically reinvest in member communities.