Staples, Minn.,
20:07 PM

NJPA Honors Area High School Students as Rising Stars

Annual event celebrates students' tenacity and quiet leadership

STAPLES, Minn. (13 April 2017) - Forty-six students from 23 central Minnesota high schools were honored by National Joint Powers Alliance® at its 26th annual Student Recognition Banquet, Wednesday, April 12th at Madden's Resort in Brainerd.

The annual event celebrates area students as Rising Stars. Each was selected by his or her respective school staff, with the criteria they are “unsung heroes” of their district—the behind-the-scenes students with little, if any, recognition.

“It is a privilege and an honor to recognize area students for being persistent, being survivors, and providing quiet leadership to make a difference in their schools,” said NJPA Executive Director/CEO Dr. Chad Coauette. “I'm hopeful that the students honored as Rising Stars tonight can look back on this event and know they're supported and that they have what it takes to overcome future challenges and obstacles in their lives.”

Each student received a $375 scholarship from company and individual donations, plus had a chance to win door prizes. Four students received $1,000 scholarships from Central Lakes College and seven students received $500 scholarships from Minnesota State Community and Technical College in Wadena.

Honored students are from school districts within Region 5, an area served by NJPA, including Cass, Crow Wing, Morrison, Todd and Wadena counties.





Aitkin Corrine Sanbeck
 Megan Host
Bertha-Hewitt Jackson Fore
 ^Keisha Bertram
Brainerd *Breanna Voss
 Veronica Wynn
Browerville Matthew May
 Yesica Ambriz
Cass Lake-Bena Dillon Dahl
 Kristi Howard
Crosby-Ironton *Jacob Sicora
 Michaela Reidell
Freshwater Avery Judd
 ^Missy Moore
Little Falls Ebbany Thompson
 Jade Cram
Long Prairie-Grey Eagle Daniel Garcia
 Kimberly Pachan
Menahga ^Aspen Anderson
 ^Egon Lake
Northland Community Haley Welk
 Ravyn Gale
Pequot Lakes Ben Nelson
 *Megan Ament
Pierz Aaron Marshik
 Grace Osborne
Pillager Chase Muller
 ^Lacie Hines
Pine River-Backus Sierra Tallman
 Tia Ford
Royalton Thomas Fountain
 *Ty Held
Sebeka Anna Huttunen
 Joe Lindroos
Staples-Motley Jenna Trantina
 Taeleigh Marlowe
Swanville Dylan Kottschade
 Travis Barthel
Upsala ^Matt Herzog
 ^Michael Welinski
Verndale Dakota Buderus
 Jensyn Schluttner
Wadena-Deer Creek Dacotah Mittag
 Nicole Iken
 Walker-Hackensack-Akeley  Kristina Kelley
 Zachary Jordan

*$1,000 CLC scholarship recipient
^$500 MState scholarship recipient

About NJPA

Sourcewell (formerly National Joint Powers Alliance) is a self-supporting government organization, partnering with education, government, and nonprofits to boost student and community success. Created in 1978 as one of Minnesota's nine service cooperatives, we offer training and shared services to our central-Minnesota members. Throughout North America, we offer a cooperative purchasing program with over 200 awarded vendors on contract. Sourcewell is driven by service and the ability to strategically reinvest in member communities.